Toast with Almond Butter and Raw Honey

Almond butter and raw honey toast

I eat 100% all-natural peanut butter every single day. I’m never without it…ever. If I don’t have it on toast for breakfast (which I more often than not do), I have a jar of it at work to eat it as a snack, with a banana, crackers or apple slices. Because I’m a vegetarian, it’s one of my main sources of protein. So this peanut butter-salmonela scare is putting a serious crimp in daily eating habits. I know the FDA has said the outbreak only applies to products with peanut butter in them, and not jarred peanut butter itself, but I’m still not taking any chances. I got food poisoning for the first time a few weeks ago after drinking sangria at a tapas bar, and if that kind of pain is what’s involved, I’d rather avoid all peanut butter.

So what is just as good as peanut butter? Why, almond butter, of course! Lately, I’ve been slathering it on my morning toast, and I’m loving it. One toasted slice of Aunt Millie’s 12 Whole Grain Fiber for Life bread with a tablespoon of Maranatha Natural Almond Butter and another toasted slice with a tablespoon of Stakich Raw Honey. Mmmm. It’s like dessert for breakfast.

5 responses to “Toast with Almond Butter and Raw Honey

  1. ah man, food poisoning? from sangria, nonetheless! sorry to hear about that. hope it was a speedy recovery. i have never tried almond butter. i am still munching on my peanut butter, though, i guess i like to live dangerously! i love honey. i really got to try the almond though, cause breakfast for dessert is the way to start everyday!

  2. So almond butter is as good as peanut butter? I am going to have to try it!

    Oh wow, food poisining from sangria!? The worst thing I have ever gotten from sangria is a killer hangover (wine + brandy + a ton of sugar = major, major headache)!

  3. yum! i’m sorry to hear about the sangria incident. ugh.

    i too eat pb almost every day–i eat koeze’s pb, which features virginia peanuts and sea salt. it’s made right in michigan, so it’s semi-local. i feel safe eating it because i know exactly where it’s made:)

  4. Yay for almond butter! I really like it, too – you should try cashew butter as well, it’s really delicious!

    And FYI, I would never judge you re: the honey! That’s just not my style :) I actually love it, too. And I figure there’s enough debate about it being vegan/not, so I’ve made the decision for myself to eat it…

    Oh, I almost forgot to say sorry about your sangria incident – that really, really sucks! Sangria is sooo good, but I bet it was a very bad thing to get food poisoning from. Yuck!

  5. I LOVE almond butter. I think it’s even sweeter than Peanut Butter – but I do eat both whenever I can :)

Leave a Reply

